Chronicles: NSCB, EJAP awards

Statistics Board cite media practitioners

The National Statistic Coordination Board cited The Philippine Star, GMA-7 and ABS-CBN Cebu’s dyAB in the 2nd NSCB Media Awards.

The 2nd NSCB Media awards included citations for television and radio. The awards seek to recognize reporters from media organizations whose reports and articles helped in promoting, popularizing and using statistics.

For her report on the Millennium Development Goals, NSCB conferred the citation for print category to Star business reporter Iris Gonzalez. GMA senior reporter Bernadette Reyes, and ABS-CBN dyAB-Cebu’s Thads Bentulan received special citations for television and radio, respectively.

The winners were selected based on the following criteria: frequency of reports and articles with statistics, accuracy, and timeliness and effectiveness of style, approach and form of their articles or reports.

Last year, the sole citation (for print) was awarded to Newsbreak writer Roel Landingin.

The judges include media practitioner and Asian Institute of Journalism and Communication faculty Mercedes “Chi-Chi” Fajardo-Robles, Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (Central Bank of the Philippines) consultant Dr. Vicente Valdepeñas, and former Philippine Statistical Association president Nieves Osorio.

Solita Monsod, regular commentator for GMA’s morning program Unang Hirit and the QTV-11 primetime newscast News on Q, headed the Board of Judges.

Reyes and Gonzalez both write from reporting business stories for their respective media outfits. They both contribute regularly for the Philippine Transparency Reporting Project (PTRP). Bentulan, meanwhile, used to write for BusinessWorld before hosting a dyAB Cebu program.

The award is part of the activities done in line with the 21st National Statistics Month. The NSM was first observed in 1990 after former President Corazon Aquino signed Presidential Proclamation No. 647 on September 20, 1990, declaring October as the National Statistics Month.

Created in 1987, the NSCB helps in the country’s policymaking by providing social, economic, political, environmental and human development statistics.

Inquirer, Times major winners in 19th EJAP Awards

Two major broadsheets won majority of the awards conferred by the Economic Journalists Association of the Philippines (EJAP).

Business reporters from The Manila Times and Philippine Daily Inquirer respectively won three and four citations in this year’s EJAP Business Journalism Awards.

Inquirer‘s Doris Dumlao, Michelle Remo and Riza Olchondra won as reporters of the year in the capital markets, banking and agriculture beats, respectively.

Daxim Lucas’ three-part Inquirer article on the Legacy Group’s alleged involvement in a multibillion-peso insurance and pension scam won the Feature Story of the Year award. Lucas was earlier awarded at the Society of Publishers in Asia’s 2010 Awards for Editorial Excellence for the same article series.

Times‘ Ben Arnold de Vera was cited reporter of the year for the trade and industry beat, and Darwin Amojelar, both for the telecommunications and macroeconomic beats.

Also cited as best reporters were former BusinessWorld reporter Alexis Romero (finance beat) and Manila Standard Today‘s Alena Mae Flores (energy).

With support from Globe Telecom, the EJAP has been recognizing journalists who did accurate and comprehensive reporting on the relevant issues in the economy.

Former Finance undersecretary Milwida Guevarra headed the board of judges. Other judges are media personality and University of the Philippines Professor Emeritus Solita Monsod, Monetary Board member Juanita Amatong, former Finance Secretary Gary Teves, University of Asia and the Pacific professor Victor Abola,Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corp. president Jorge Sarmiento, Quintin Pastrana of Chevron’s Geothermal and Power Holdings and Alexander Escuchia of China Bank.

The EJAP Awards started in 1992. Globe has been supporting the awards for 11 years.

One response to “Chronicles: NSCB, EJAP awards”

  1. Tweets that mention Chronicles: NSCB, EJAP awards | Center for Media Freedom & Responsibility -- says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by CMFR, Rupert Mangilit. Rupert Mangilit said: RT @cmfr: NSCB cites three media practitioners, and PDI and Times emerge as major winners at the 2010 EJAP awards. httpss:// […]