2013 Red Cross Award for Humanitarian Reporting winners

The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) announced on 27 August 2013 the winners of the 2013 Red Cross Award for Humanitarian Reporting.

The Red Cross Award for Humanitarian Reporting seeks to highlight “respect for human dignity amid armed violence and to promote international humanitarian law, the rules that seeks (sic) to limit, for humanitarian reasons, the effect of armed conflict.”

This year, ICRC honored humanitarian reports in partnership with the Philippine Red Cross  and with the support of the International News Safety Institute (Asia-Pacific office), The Peace and Conflict Journalism Network, the Philippine Center for Photojournalism,  and the Rotary Club of Manila.

There were 23 finalists. The winners are:


1st Place – “Strides into the future” by Stella Estremera, Sun Star Davao published 24 March 2013

2nd Place – “Women take lead in bringing peace” by Julieta Alipala, Philippine Daily Inquirer published 24 June 2012

3rd Place – “Bangsangmoro’s stirs feelings of Christians, Muslims” by Celerina del Mundo, Daily Manila Shimbun published 24 December 2012


1st Place – “The Tampakan project: Battle over Southeast Asia’s largest copper-gold reserve” by Bong Sarmiento, MindaNews published 11 November 2012

2nd Place – “Anti-Cellophil struggle: A continuing source of inspiration to IPs” by Desiree Caluza, VERA Files published 9 December 2012

3rd Place – “Child rights violations under Aquino administration” by Anne Marxze Umpil, published 30 October 2012


1st Place – “Tudok Firiz: Mekefetu” by Malu Cadelina Manar, dxND Radyo Bida released 15 September 2012

2nd Place – “Mga Bakwit: TNT sa Maguindanao” by Malu Cadelina Manar, dxND Radyo Bida released 8 September 2012

3rd Place – “Mga Residente sa Maco, na-trauma sa giyera” by Ruel Dagsangan, UMBN-dxDN Radyo Ukay released 23 October 2012


1st Place – “Child in red blanket” by Jeoffrey Maitem, Philippine Daily Inquirer published 15 August 2012

2nd Place – “Bakwit” by Ruby Thursday More, MindaNews published 22 August 2012

3rd Place – “Clash on Good Friday” by Erwin Mascarinas, MindaNews published 29 March 2013


1st Place – “Batang Halau” by Eleazar del Rosario, GMA 30 September 2012

2nd Place – “Bakwit” by Karen Namoro (executive producer) and Karen Davila (host), ABS-CBN released 17 May 2012

3rd Place – “Killings unabated under Aquino” by Ronalyn Olea, released 4 June 2012



MBFI Journalists of the Year winners

The Metrobank Foundation, Inc. (MBFI) has named the winners of its first Journalists of the Year (JOY) award.

They are: Maria Lourdes “Malou” C. Mangahas, host of GMA News TV Channel 11 Investigative Documentaries and executive director of the Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism (PCIJ); Jarius Y. Bondoc, columnist (“Gotcha”) of The Philippine Star and host of dwIZ’s radio program Sapol ni Jarius Bondoc; and, Rodrigo “Jiggy” D. Manicad, Jr., news producer of GMA-7 News & Public Affairs and anchor of GMA-7’s Reporter’s Notebook, 24 Oras Weekend, and GMA News TV Channel 11’s Quick Response Team (QRT).

The winners will receive a cash prize of Php 300,000.00 and a special medallion on the awarding ceremony in October 2013. They will also become “Metrobank Foundation Fellows in Journalism”.

JOY recognizes excellence in Philippine journalism. It honors Filipino journalists who exhibit excellent works in any media platforms and contributed to positive social change and in nation-building.

MBFI gave the JOY award in partnership with the Probe Media Foundation, Inc. (PMFI).



Fellowship Program on Public Policy

The Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars is accepting applications for its fellowship program on public policy.

Interested journalists, practitioners, and scholars worldwide are welcome to apply for the nine-month residential fellowship program in the United States.

Applicants must submit an application form, a CV, a list of publications, a project proposal, a bibliography, and a one page Financial Information Form through mail to the  Scholars and Academic Relations Office, Woodrow Wilson Center, One Woodrow Wilson Plaza,  1300 Pennsylvania Ave., NW Washington, DC 20004-3027 or via online at

Fellows will receive  a maximum stipend of USD 85,000.00 each plus other incentives.

The deadline for applications is October 1.

More information about the fellowship can be accessed at