Nancy C. Carvajal named Outstanding Journalist of 2013 and Cheche Lazaro Marshall McLuhan Fellow of 2014


For more information on the Jaime V. Ongpin Journalism Seminar (JVOJS), please contact the Center for Media Freedom & Responsibility (CMFR) at any of the following numbers:  894-1314/894-1326.


On its 25th anniversary, the Center for Media Freedom & Responsibility (CMFR) announced today, June 26, that Nancy C. Carvajal was chosen to be Outstanding Journalist of 2013 for her extensive work on the pork barrel series and Cheche Lazaro as the 2014 recipient of the Marshall McLuhan fellowship.

The recognition of the two took place after this year’s Jaime V. Ongpin Journalism Seminar, which took up the theme of media and accountability.

The Embassy of Canada, with support from SunLife Financial Inc., sponsors the McLuhan fellowship named after communication theoretician Marshall McLuhan. It consists of a two-week familiarization and lecture tour of Canadian media and academic organizations, and later, a lecture tour of Philippine universities under Embassy auspices.

The panelists of  this year’s Jaime V. Ongpin Journalism Seminar were:

Nancy C. Carvajal
Philippine Daily Inquirer

Steve F. Dailisan
GMA Network Inc.

Joey A. Gabieta
Philippine Daily Inquirer

Miriam Grace A. Go

CheChe Lazaro
Probe Productions Inc.

Jake Soriano
Freelance journalist (formerly with GMA News Research)

Each received a certificate of recognition and a P20,000 honorarium.

As Outstanding Journalist for 2013, Carvajal received a total of P50,000.

The panelists, who join the roster of Jaime V. Ongpin Journalism Fellows, were chosen by the committee from a list based on the CMFR’s PJR Reports online, and other recommendations. CMFR has recognized hundreds of JVO Fellows, including, Sheila S. Coronel, who has  recently been appointed as Dean of Academic Affairs of the Columbia School of Journalism.

CMFR’s programs include press freedom protection and promotion of media responsibility in the context of Philippine democratic development.