JVOJS 2020: Philstar.com’s Camille Diola receives CMFR Award of Distinction; ABS-CBN’S Christian Esguerra named Marshall McLuhan Fellow

DUE TO the pandemic, CMFR held the Jaime V. Ongpin Journalism Seminar online on Friday, October 9, 2020.

The program featured a panel of six journalists chosen on the basis of the quality of their reports in television and online. The seminar discussed the coverage of various issues in the news in the past year: COVID-19, China and the West Philippine Sea, the relationship of the press and the government, the state of the press and other governance issues.

Camille Diola of PhilStar.com received from the Center for Media Freedom & Responsibility (CMFR) the Award of Distinction.  Ambassador Peter MacArthur of the Embassy of Canada, presented Christian Esguerra of ABS-CBN as the 2020 Marshall McLuhan Fellow.

The program has been supported with a grant from the National Endowment for Democracy and in partnership with the Ateneo de Manila University.

The Embassy of Canada has sponsored the Marshall McLuhan Fellowship, named after the Canadian communication theoretician, for 24 years. It consists of a two-week familiarization and lecture tour of Canadian media and academic organizations, and later, a lecture tour of Philippine universities under Embassy auspices and with the support of SunLife Financial, Inc.

The Marshall McLuhan Fellowship was first awarded in 1997. Twenty-one  journalists have been named as Fellows, among them Sheila S. Coronel (Columbia Journalism School and Stabile Center for Investigative Journalism), Yvonne T. Chua (VERA Files), Ed Lingao (TV5), Carolyn O. Arguillas (MindaNews), and Cheche Lazaro (ProbeTV), among others.

The panelists in this year’s JVOJS were:

Lian Buan

Camille Diola

Christian Esguerra

Mike Navallo

Raffy Tima
GMA Network

Chiara Zambrano

These journalists join the roster of Jaime V. Ongpin Journalism Fellows, a community of  media practitioners who participate as resource persons in various journalism events and programs organized by CMFR and its partner organizations around the world.