Eight Journalists Named for Jaime V. Ongpin Journalism Seminar 2021

CMFR WILL hold the 2021 Jaime V. Ongpin Journalism program as a webinar as it did in 2020. This year it will feature eight journalists from television and online news organizations as panelists on Thursday, October 14, 2021.  

The panel discussion will take up the radical changes in the news landscape, the issues of press freedom and democracy, and the place of news in Philippine society.  

CMFR established the Jaime V. Ongpin Journalism Seminar to recognize journalists who have distinguished themselves with the quality of their work in the context of best practice, press freedom protection, and the promotion of media ethics. The annual event serves as a living memorial for the late businessman Jaime V. Ongpin, who actively supported the alternative press, and whose advocacy for press freedom as a way to weaken Marcos dictatorship in the early eighties contributed to its collapse.

Selected by senior journalists who are members of CMFR’s Board of Trustees, the panelists this year are:  

Lian Buan

Camille Diola
Interaksyon and PhilStar.com

Christian Esguerra

Edson Guido

Franco Luna

Mike Navallo 

Pia Ranada

James Relativo

This year, the Embassy of Canada has decided not to name a Marshall McLuhan Fellow because the pandemic and travel restrictions postponed the study tour of Christian Esguerra of ABS-CBN who was selected for the program last year.  

The Embassy of Canada has sponsored the Marshall McLuhan Fellowship, named after the Canadian communication theoretician, for 24 years. It consists of a two-week familiarization and lecture tour of Canadian media and academic organizations, and later, a lecture tour of Philippine universities under Embassy auspices and with the support of SunLife Financial, Inc.

First given in 1997, the Canadian program has recognized 23 JVO panelists, including. Sheila S. Coronel (Columbia Journalism School and Stabile Center for Investigative Journalism), Yvonne T. Chua (VERA Files), Ed Lingao (TV5), Carolyn O. Arguillas (MindaNews), and Cheche Lazaro (ProbeTV), among others.