CMFR celebrates 30 years with Jaime V. Ongpin Journalism Program

CELEBRATING ITS 30 years of programs to promote press freedom, the Center for Media Freedom & Responsibility (CMFR) holds the 2019 Jaime V. Ongpin Journalism Seminar with seven journalists from television, print and online news organizations as panelists.

The panel discussion will take up the drug war, China’s presence in the West Philippine Sea, elections and concerns about governance and corruption.

CMFR established the Jaime V. Ongpin Journalism Seminar to recognize journalists who have distinguished themselves with quality work. The recognition of best practice and excellence in journalism is one of CMFR’s three flagship programs, which include press freedom protection and the promotion of media ethics. The annual event is also a memorial for the late Jaime V. Ongpin’s work as a press freedom advocate during the Marcos regime in the early eighties.

The seminar will be held on Thursday, August 29, 2019 at the SGV Hall of the Asian Institute of Management (AIM) Conference Center in Legaspi Village, Makati City, starting promptly at 9:30 a.m.

Selected by senior journalists who serve on CMFR’s Board of Trustees, the panelists this year are: 

Christian Esguerra

Patricia Evangelista

Ed Lingao

Malou Mangahas
Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism

Rambo Talabong

Jun Veneracion

Chiara Zambrano

The panel discussion will be followed by the presentation of CMFR’s Award of Distinction and the Marshall McLuhan Fellow for 2019.

The Embassy of Canada in the Philippines, together with Sun Life Financial Inc., sponsors the fellowship named after the Canadian communication theoretician. The Embassy also supports the awardee’s study tour of Canadian media and academic institutions and lecture forums in selected Philippine universities.