Rotary Club of Manila Awards Journalists, Media Orgs


THE 47TH Rotary Club of Manila (RCM) Journalism Awards held last June 30 at the New World Hotel in Makati City recognized several journalists and media organizations for their contributions to Philippine journalism.

Launched in 1966, the event aims to honor outstanding individuals in print, television and radio.  RCM stopped giving the award in 1972, deeming the awards irrelevant due to the lack of press freedom during that time. It was relaunched in 1986 to encourage the development of Philippine journalism.

The following is a list of the categories and their corresponding awardees:


For Print

Newspaper of the Year: Manila Bulletin

Business Newspaper of the Year: BusinessWorld

Business Magazine of the Year: BizNews Asia

Regional Newspaper of the Year: Mindanao Times

Journalist of the Year: Ana Marie Pamintuan, The Philippine Star

Investigative Reporter of the Year: Daxim Lucas, Philippine Daily Inquirer

Male Opinion Writer of the Year: Alexander Magno, The Philippine Star

Female Opinion Writer of the Year: Ellen Tordesillas, Malaya

Glossy Lifestyle Magazine of the Year: People Asia Magazine


For Broadcast

Television Station of the Year: CNN Philippines

Television Male Broadcaster of the Year: Augusto “Gus” Abelgas, ABS-CBN Corp.

Radio and Television Female Broadcaster of the Year: Nimfa Ravelo, GMA Network Inc.

Radio Station of the Year: dzMM 630

Radio Male Broadcaster of the Year: Gerry Baja, dzMM 630

Radio Female Broadcaster of the Year: Jasmine Romero, dzMM 630

Regional Broadcaster of the Year: Ronald Lledo, GPBI TV 11 Zamboanga


A special award was given to lawyer Emil Jurado, who writes a column in The Standard. Posthumous awards were also conferred on Rodolfo Reyes, founding publisher of the Manila Standard; Neal Cruz, Inquirer columnist; and the 32 journalist victims of the Ampatuan massacre.