Not-so-late news anymore
ABS-CBN has created a new late-evening news program and moved it to an earlier time slot to make it more accessible to viewers.

Named Bandila, the new program is scheduled to air weekdays at 10:30 p.m., starting July 3.  Korina Sanchez, Henry Omaga-Diaz, and Ces Drilon are the program’s anchors.

The network’s former late-night news program Insider, which aired from 11:30 p.m. to 12:30 am, was terminated together with two current affairs program, Pipol  and Kontrobersyal.

Maria Ressa, ABS-CBN’s news and current affairs program head, said the name Bandila was adopted because the decision to move the late night news program was “an act of leadership.”

Pinoy reporters, cartoonist get Asian publishers’ awards
A Filipino journalist won the Local Journalist Award from the Society of Publishers of Asia Awards for Editorial Excellence on May 29 in Hongkong.

Elena Torrijos of the Singapore-based Asian Banker Journal received the prize for her “clear and informative writing that helps the readers see and understand the subject,” according to one judge. Torrijos used to be a business writer for the Philippine Daily Inquirer.

Inquirer reporter Blanche Rivera and cartoonist Gilbert Daroy also won awards in the event. Rivera topped the environmental reporting cate-gory for her stories on the waste spill in Rapu-Rapu mine.  On the other hand, Daroy won honorable mention honors for his drawings on the December 2004 tsunami that hit Asia and on the Burma issue in the Association of Southeast Asian Nations.

Summit on media coverage of Region 12
Thirty members of the press gathered in Cotabato City on June 16-18 to discuss media’s coverage of the peace and development issues in Region 12.

Dubbed the First Central Mindanao Media Summit, the meet aimed to improve media coverage of the region. Representatives from the government and the private sector informed the media on the peace and development efforts in Socsargen to give a better picture of the region once dubbed as the “most heavily bombed in the country.”

Speakers include Mayor Muslimin Sema on poverty incidence; Konrad Adenauer Foundation (KAF) representative Klaus Preschle on media’s agenda-setting function; Hadja Sittie Marian Lim, regional director of the National Economic and Development Authority, Prof. Abhoud Syed Lingga of the Institute of Bangsamoro Studies, Benedicto Barani of the Institute for Autonomy and Governance, and North Cotobato Gov. Emmanuel Piñol on the government and private sector’s peace and development initiatives.

The summit was convened by the Mindanao Cross, the Philippine Information Agency, the Institute for Autonomy and Governance, and KAF.

Star, GMA-7 win Rotary awards
The Philippine Star and GMA-7 were adjudged best newspaper and television station in the 2005-2006 Rotary Club of Manila Journalism Awards last June 22.

The two media outfits won for “consistently upholding the principles of responsible journalism in maintaining fair and balanced reporting, as well as espousing the pursuit of good governance, free enterprise, social justice, and key aspects of nation building.”

Other winners were Sun.Star-Davao (regional newspaper), dwIZ-AM, Aliw Broadcasting Station (radio station), GMA-7 news anchor Arnold Clavio  (broadcast journalist for TV), Joe Taruc (broadcast journalist for radio), GMA-7 correspondent Howie Severino (investigative journalist), and Philippine Daily Inquirer columnist Manuel Quezon III (opinion writer). Taruc was also inducted to the Hall of Fame.

Comments are closed.