JVOAEJ Winners Announced

For more information on the Jaime V. Ongpin Awards for Excellence in Journalism (JVOAEJ), please contact the Center for Media Freedom and Responsibility at any of the following numbers: 894-1314/894-1326.

JVOAEJ Winners announced

Newsbreak magazine and the Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism (PCIJ) won the top awards in the 19th Jaime V. Ongpin Awards for Excellence in Journalism (JVOAEJ) for works published in 2007. The results were announced during the annual JVOAEJ ceremonies at the Asian Institute of Management on June 26. The Center for Media Freedom and Responsibility (CMFR) has been the administrative and technical secretariat of the JVOAEJ since 1990.

The JVOAEJ this year scanned the print media for investigative and explanatory articles published in 2007, and then focused on the urgent issues of human rights, the environment and governance and corruption to encourage reporting on these urgent issues.

This year, “Trapped in a web of lives” by Glenda M. Gloria published in the December 2007-February 2008 issue of Newsbreak and “The battle for Manila’s gateway” by Roel Landingin published in the September-December 2007 issue of Newsbreak, were judged the best human rights and governance reports, respectively. Each received a plaque of distinction and a cash prize of P70,000.

The board of judges named the environment story “What’s swinming in your soup?” by Prime Sarmiento of the Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism (PCIJ) and published in Malaya newspaper on November 27-28, 2007 recipient of a plaque of merit and a cash prize of P25,000.

The Canadian Embassy announced that the Marshall McLuhan Prize, a travel study tour of Canada, will go to Glenda M. Gloria. This is the 12th year that the Canadian Embassy has awarded the Marshall McLuhan Prize in the JVOAEJ.

The Australian Embassy named Roel Landingin as the recipient of the Australian Ambassador’s Award, a travel grant to Australia. It was the sixth time that the Australian Embassy presented the Australian Ambassador’s Award in the JVOAEJ.

The first JVOAEJ was launched in 1990 to honor the late Jaime V. Ongpin who was secretary of finance during the Aquino administration. A press freedom advocate, Ongpin was involved in the struggle against the Marcos dictatorship and was instrumental in harnessing public support for the restoration of democracy.

The JVOAEJ this year was sponsored by the Open Society Foundation Media Program and the Ateneo de Manila University.

The finalists in this year’s JVOAEJ awards were:

Palace document shows gov’t plan to neutralize Left
Norman Bordadora and Michael Lim Ubac
Philippine Daily Inquirer
July 16-17, 2007

The road to Italy
Gemma Luz Corotan
September-December 2007

Inside PCGG 21 years later
Fernando del Mundo, Margaux C. Ortiz, Jerry Esplanada and Daxim L. Lucas with reports from TJ Burgonio and Lawrence de Guzman
Philippine Daily Inquirer
February 22-25, 2007

Environmentalists to govt: Manage garbage, don’t promote landfills, dumps
Nora O. Gamolo
The Manila Times
October 28-29, October 31-November 1, 2007

Garci was here
Miriam Grace A. Go
July-September 2007

Bridging the digital gap
Allison Lopez, Riza Olchondra, Juliet Labog-Javellana with reports from
Julie S. Alipala
Chief: Fernando del Mundo
Philippine Daily Inquirer
December 27-29, 2007

Malansang balak ng Hapon sa Pilipinas
Soliman A. Santos and Kenneth Roland A. Guda
Pinoy Weekly
October 17-23, 2007

All the finalists received a plaque and a cash prize of P10,000.

Comments are closed.