200-125 | 100-105 | 300-320 | 210-060 | CISSP | 200-105 | 210-260 | 70-697 | 400-051 | 200-310 | 300-115 | 300-101 | EX200 | 640-916 | 2V0-621 | 1Z0-062 | 300-135 | 210-065 | 300-360 | 070-462 | 70-410 | 70-410 | 300-070 | 300-075 | 300-209 | N10-006 | 642-999 | 642-998 | EX300 |
Sandra Burton Nieman Fellowship for 2015 - 2016 now accepting applications | CMFR

Sandra Burton Nieman Fellowship for 2015 – 2016 now accepting applications

The 3rd Sandra Burton Nieman Fellowship for Filipino Journalists is inviting applications for the year 2015 – 2016. Nieman Fellows are expected to do academic work at Harvard University, USA for two semesters, during which time they may not do professional work and should have obtained clearance from their employers, if applicable.

The Center for Media Freedom & Responsibility (CMFR) is administering the search for the Fellowship named after the late journalist Sandra Burton and sponsored by the Ninoy and Cory Aquino Foundation (NCAF).

As in previous years, CMFR will be in charge of the selection process. CMFR will receive applications starting October 27, 2014 (Monday). The deadline for applications is December 01, 2014 (Monday).

Sandra Burton was the Hong Kong bureau chief of TIME magazine who accompanied then opposition leader former Senator Benigno Aquino Jr. on his flight home from the United States to Manila on August 21, 1983. The senator was killed on the tarmac upon his arrival.

Ms. Burton reported on the assassination and the political turmoil triggered by the death of the opposition leader as well as the events that led to the fall of the Marcos dictatorship in February 1986. She continued to report on the democratic transition and the presidency of Mrs. Corazon Aquino, developing strong ties with many Filipino journalists who were working during that period.

Ms. Burton passed away on February 27, 2004 in Bali where she lived after retiring from journalism. She left a scholarship fund to the NCAF to support the study by Filipino journalists in the US.

The Nieman Foundation selects about 12 US and 12 foreign journalists for the Fellowships each year. Only full-time journalists (including freelancers) with at least five years’ experience are qualified. Those journalists working for the news or editorial departments of newspapers, wire services, radio, television, web sites, online publications or magazines of general public interest may apply. Photojournalists, editorial cartoonists, columnists and broadcast producers are also eligible. Public relations practitioners and those who write in or for organizations whose primary business is not the media are not eligible.

The past recipients of the Sandra Burton-Nieman Fellowship for Filipino Journalists are Philippine Daily Inquirer senior editor-columnist John Nery (2011) and Sun.Star group of community newspapers new media editor Maria Lourdes “Nini” Cabaero (2013).


How to apply:

All applicants must complete an online application form. Please click this link to start your application.

Please use the “Sandra Burton (Philippines) Nieman Fellowship” to apply.

If uploading is not possible and/or work samples exist only as hard copies, please send the materials which will be added to your online application to the address below. Please do not send originals.

Sandra Burton Nieman Fellowship for Filipino Journalists
Center for Media Freedom & Responsibility
Address: 2/F Ateneo Professional Schools Salcedo
130 H.V. dela Costa St., Salcedo Village
Makati City 1227
Email: staff@cmfr-phil.org

Materials must be sent no later than or postmarked by December 01, 2014 (Monday).


Should you have any questions about the Sandra Burton Nieman Fellowship for Filipino Journalists, you may email CMFR at staff@cmfr-phil.org. You may also call the following CMFR numbers +63 2 894-1326/894-1314/840-0889 (attention Kathryn Raymundo). Details regarding the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard are available here.