200-125 | 100-105 | 300-320 | 210-060 | CISSP | 200-105 | 210-260 | 70-697 | 400-051 | 200-310 | 300-115 | 300-101 | EX200 | 640-916 | 2V0-621 | 1Z0-062 | 300-135 | 210-065 | 300-360 | 070-462 | 70-410 | 70-410 | 300-070 | 300-075 | 300-209 | N10-006 | 642-999 | 642-998 | EX300 |
CMFR announces new Ongpin fellows; Carolyn O. Arguillas 2011 Marshall McLuhan Fellow, John Nery 1st Sandra Burton Nieman Fellow | CMFR

CMFR announces new Ongpin fellows; Carolyn O. Arguillas 2011 Marshall McLuhan Fellow, John Nery 1st Sandra Burton Nieman Fellow

For more information on the Jaime V. Ongpin Journalism Seminar (JVOJS), please contact the Center for Media Freedom and Responsibility (CMFR) at any of the following numbers: 894-1314/894-1326.

The Center for Media Freedom and Responsibility (CMFR) held the Jaime V. Ongpin Journalism Seminar (JVOJS) which discussed the coverage of the first year of President Benigno Aquino III as well as other press issues and problems. The seminar was held at the AIM Conference Center in Makati today (June 23).

The Fellows, who were panelists at this year’s seminar, were:

• Sandra Aguinaldo (GMA-7)
• Carolyn O. Arguillas (MindaNews)
• Nestor P. Burgos Jr. (Philippine Daily Inquirer)
• Carlos H. Conde (The New York Times/International Herald Tribune)
• Marilou Guanzon-Apalisok (Cebu Daily News)
• Jon Joaquin (Mindanao Daily Mirror)
• Malou Mangahas (Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism)

The fellows received certificates of recognition and P20,000.

The fellows were chosen by a steering committee composed of senior journalists, who nominated journalists from both the national and community press in addition to a list based on the PJR Reports media monitor. PJR Reports, the flagship publication of CMFR, monitors media performance, recognizing good practice and criticizing lapses in coverage.

The seminar has been a major feature of the Jaime V. Ongpin Awards for Excellence in Journalism since 1995. The seminar this year continues to honor the memory of Jaime V. Ongpin, a business leader and press freedom advocate who led protests against the excesses of the Marcos regime and who later served as finance secretary in the Cabinet of the late President Corazon Aquino.

After the seminar, Ambassador Christopher Thornley of the Embassy of Canada announced the selection of Carolyn O. Arguillas as the 2011 Marshall McLuhan Fellow. Arguillas is the founder and editor of MindaNews.

Arguillas is the recipient of the Marshall McLuhan Prize, now on its 15th year. The Embassy of Canada with SunLife Financial Inc. sponsors the Marshall McLuhan Prize, named after the Canadian communication theoretician. The fellowship consists of a ten-day familiarization and lecture tour of Canadian media and academic organizations, and a lecture tour of Philippine universities under the Embassy’s auspices.

Ms. Ma. Elena “Ballsy” Cruz, chairperson of the Ninoy and Cory Aquino Foundation, officially presented the first Sandra Burton Nieman Fellow to John Nery, a senior editor and columnist of the Philippine Daily Inquirer.

The Nieman fellowship consists of a year’s study grant at Harvard University in the United States. The late Sandra Burton was the Time Asia correspondent who covered the Philippines extensively from August 23, 1983 when she was part of the media group accompanying then opposition leader, former Senator Benigno Aquino, Jr. on his return flight to Manila. Aquino was assassinated upon arrival at the Manila International Airport. Ms. Burton continued to report on the political developments in the country, including the
People Power events of 1986.

CMFR administered the selection process which nominated John Nery to the Nieman Program.

Comments are closed.